Marthe dress

Honestly looking outside the window it seems not so spring to me, so I was inspired to sew darker and winter colors. I was so happy with the Marthe blouse that I decided to try a dress version, to wear easily in the morning with leggings and ankle boots.

036

The fabric is a wool and viscose blend, lightweight and a bit sheer. It was easy to sew and I like the drape it takes. Since I was afraid of the seams showing outside, I made French seams all over the dress (I didn’t take a picture tough, maybe I will IG)

031I made some modifications to the original pattern. First of all I have added 3cm to the bodice, as for the blouse version. Second I have added a lot of cm to the panel to reach the dress length. Last thing, I decided to pleat the skirt instead of gather. This last part took me a bit of time, and even if I basted the pleats, they ended up not to be even.

042

041

Also the insertion of the zipper was not a big success, but overall I am happy with the result and with the fact that lately I am sewing thing that I wear in my daily life.

037

Thanks to my husband for taking pictures in a cold day!

2 thoughts on “Marthe dress

  1. What a lovely Marthe dress you made! I love it. I also have the pattern for my daughter and I. I made one blouse for her and a dress is on her way! I going to do a longer blouse for my mum and a dress for me. Can’t wait!
    Is your fabric light? Because I feel that with Marthe it is better to use lighter fabric like silk or viscose do you?

    Like

Leave a Comment