Festive wardrobe week #2: Elisalex mini gold and black

Happy 2015!!! I hope you had a great start of the year. For my new year eve I didn’t have much time to sew, so I choose something already tried but with a festive fabric. Pictures are not the best, but it was snowing all these days and so I took the pictures inside.

013

021

The Elisalex skirt is a simple pleated skirt, with a lot of volume around the hips and high waist.

031 042

From the original pattern I made some modifications. First the length, I choose to go for a mini skirt and I took off around 30cm (12″) from the original one. Since the skirt is foreseen to be attached to the bodice of the dress, I self-drafted the waistband. The skirt is totally lined, with medium weight black cotton, which gives extra volume to the skirt.  I am not super happy with the hem. I started to do it by hand, but short on time I went for a sewing machine one.

047

The fabric is a cotton polyester blend (I don’t know the exact composition), I liked the fact that it was black with some gold dots. Festive but not so festive.

062

And now ready for the party!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

043

14 thoughts on “Festive wardrobe week #2: Elisalex mini gold and black

    1. Hai ragione, a parte con il vapore non ho potuto nemmeno usare il ferro da stiro per aiutarmi! Però l’effetto della stoffa nell’aprirsi subito dopo la piega ha un suo perché. L orlo no, più lo guardo più non mi piace, magari l accorcio ancora di più e lo faccio a mano stavolta.

      Like

Leave a Comment

