Festive wardrobe week #1: the Brenna coat

Few times ago, I was selected as tester for the new pattern of Cali Faye Collection. It is the second time I have this opportunity and I am very happy to do it. I love Sarah’s design, so simple and so feminine at the same time.

063

039

The Brenna coat is a really modern coat and the design is so simple that you can go creative on your own. It comes in size from the xxs to xxl. I cut a size S and it fits perfectly. No alterations on the fitting size.

029

I made however some modification on the esthetic, choosing to make a color blocked coat. The idea came directly from the fabric. I had a very nice bouclé’ wool but it seemed “too much” to me, even for a festive wardrobe. I have chosen then to pair it with dark blue wool. The pattern calls for lightweight wool, but these too are more on the medium weight range: they worked perfectly and the result is good and warm for me. For the lining I opted for a standard lining, in light pink.

079 080

The pattern has really clear instructions that drive you through the construction of the coat. You just have to follow step by step. The only part that required me a bit of thinking was how to assemble the lining, but Sarah has a clever method for that, which avoids any pulling from the inside.

056064

Happy holidays everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Festive wardrobe week #1: the Brenna coat

Leave a Comment

