Lucie #1

Summer is almost over, but it is nice to dream about it a little bit more. Today I am posting one dress I have made more than one month ago, worn a lot, but for some reason never blogged (but posted on my Kollabora profile, here).

017

  • Pattern: Lucie dress by Republique du Chiffon
  • Fabric: black chambray bought more than one year ago
  • Difficulty: Easy, beginner friendly

015

Alterations: First I lifted the back neckline, adding about 2 inches (5 cm) for more coverage. Second the pattern calls for a lining of the bodice, but I omitted it. Instead I added an opening at the front bodice, with some snaps buttons, for my breastfeeding needs (and really worked well). Third I finished the neckline and the armholes with some black binding. No modifications to the gathered skirt.

022

The dress is designed with a lot of ease, in particular at the waistline and the hips. I cut a size 36, that it is my usual French size, and it fits well (I mean the dress is so wide that talking about fitting is a bit too much). I love it, it is ideal for breathing in summer when is hot, but also layered with some tights and a sweater in fall.

4 thoughts on “Lucie #1

Leave a Comment

