Short on shorts

I was not prepared for summer! During the last move, I cleaned up my closet and I think I simply overdone it, in particular for summer clothes. I am short on…shorts.

iris 1

PatternColette Iris, version 1

Fabric: blue chambray for the shorts and lightweight cotton for the underlining

iris 5

The pattern is classified as a beginner one and I agree with that. If you follow the instructions and the photo tutorials on the Colette blog, you can’t get lost. The fit was the part where I had to spend a bit more time. I have cut a size zero for the hips and a size 2 for the waist. Maybe there I should cut a size 4 next time: my invisible zipper is not so invisible at the waist after all…

iris 8

Since I discovered the pleasure in taking my time doing things, I have tried some old fashioned couture techniques. I don’t want make this post longer than usual, so I will summarize and give pictures instead: underling, interfacing around zipper with fabric, pinking seam finishing, hand stitch for hem and waistband.

iris 2

I have uploaded these shorts in the Shorts on the Line sewalong on Kollabora. You can find all the details on the Imagine Gnats blog or  on the Kollabora page. Join me! There is time until this Sunday.

sotl-2014-button

3 thoughts on “Short on shorts

Leave a Comment

